The KCACTF National Undergraduate Playwriting Award is part of the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program and supported by the Education Department of the Kennedy Center.

A first place cash award of $1000

O’Neill Playwrights’ Conference Fellowship. The first place award recipient will have the opportunity to be in residence at the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center in Waterford, Connecticut, as official observer. During a two-week fellowship at the Conference (July), the playwright will have the opportunity to write, participate in master classes, observe plays by noted playwrights in development and to have professional development seminars with the Conference artistic staff. The Fellowship provides travel, room, board, and tuition for the residency.

Dramatists Guild Award. The Dramatists Guild Award provides the playwright with Active membership in the Guild.

The second place award is a cash prize of $500.

The play must be full-length play, on any subject matter, written by a current, matriculated undergraduate student or was written while an undergraduate no more than one year prior to December 1.  A student currently enrolled in a graduate playwriting program is not eligible for this award. At minimum, the play will have had a significant development process on the student’s home campus and presented in a “rehearsed” or concert reading” format.

Rules and Guidelines