The KCACTF National Ten-Minute Play Award

Each region establishes submission criteria for its regional ten-minute play festival. Selected playwrights work with a director, dramaturg, and actors to develop a staged reading of the play, followed by a response session with guest respondents during the regional festival. All colleges and universities with at least one Participating or Associate Entry in KCACTF may enter the Ten-Minute Play Festival at no additional charge.  Submissions from schools with no entries in Festival should consult regional websites for entry information.


All nominated regional ten-minute plays will be submitted to the Kennedy Center by the NPP Regional Chairs before each festival; after each festival, the NPP Regional Chair will notify the National Office of the top two ten-minute plays in that region and/or submit revised drafts of those plays to the KCACTF Artistic Director Gregg Henry (

A judging panel will read the sixteen regional nominees (national semi-finalists) and pick the award-recipient play and three additional national finalists to invite to the national festival in April (four playwrights in total).

At the national festival, those four plays will again be presented as staged readings in the Kennedy Center Theatre Lab with casts made up of professional actors from the Washington, D.C., area.

* The outstanding Ten-Minute Plays from each region (eight regions, sixteen plays) may be published by Dramatic Publishing Company.

* A first place cash award of $500 will be given to a playwright selected from the sixteen national semi-finalists designated by the regions.

* Dramatists Guild Award. All national finalists of the Ten-Minute Play Award will be provided with active membership in the Dramatists Guild.

For more information on entering a ten-minute play, contact your NPP Regional Chair.

Rules and Guidelines