Presented in association with Kennedy Center Theater for Young Audiences and sponsored by the National Committee for the Performing Arts, the Darrell Ayers Playwriting Award recognizes the outstanding student-written play or adaptation on a theme for young people at any level between kindergarten and 12th grades.

*  A $1000 cash prize will be awarded to the playwright.

*  Dramatists Guild Award.  The Dramatists Guild Award provides the playwright with Active membership in the Guild.

*  The Kennedy Center's New Visions/New Voices Fellowship.  The award recipient receives a fellowship to attend the Kennedy Center's New Visions/New Voices development laboratory in even numbered years and a professional development opportunity to be mutually determined in odd-numbered years. The Fellowship covers travel, living expenses, per diem, and related Festival costs. This important professional development opportunity enables the playwright to further refine his/her writing skills and to observe professionals at work on their craft.

All student who attend a college that participates in KCACTF by entering a production or productions for response at the Associate or Participating level may submit their plays for consideration for this award.  Entries do not need to be produced by their schools for consideration in this award category.  The play must comply with the guidelines for scripts entered in the KCACTF Michael Kanin Playwriting Program.

For other questions, refer to “Rules and Guidelines for the Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program” above

Rules and Guidelines